Dad Visits Paris!

A little over a week ago my dad re-routed his business trip through Paris and sent me an email saying he would be visiting me for a weekend! As you can imagine, I was extremely excited! Saturday morning (early morning) I met my dad at his hotel by Trocadero and after napping for a few hours we headed out for a long day in Paris! Along with a huge hug, he also brough me homemade pasta sauce, poptarts, Annie’s mac n cheese, and homemade brownies! I’m a lucky daughter 🙂

Croissants, coffee, tea, and orange juice for breakfast. With a view of the Eiffel Tower, I might add!
We spent the afternoon at Musée d’Orsay, a museum in Paris that was converted from an old train station.
Checking out some cool artwork at the museum.
The most beautiful clock inside the museum.
One of my favorite paintings we looked at by Alfred Sisley, an impressionist landscape painter from the 1800s.
There’s a balcony outside the Musée d’Orsay with a gorgeous view of Paris. You can see the Sacré-Cœur basilica in the distance.
After the museum, we headed over to the Arc de Triomphe and had the most beautiful weather to look out over Paris.
View over the avenue des Champs-Élysées.
Eiffel Tower, gorgeous!
View looking out towards La Defense, the business sector of Paris.
Another closeup of the beautiful Eiffel Tower.
The winding staircases inside the Arc de Triomphe are no easy feat! 😉

We happened to be at the Arc de Triomphe right at 6:30pm and saw the ceremony for the unknown soldier. Apparently, every evening at 6:30pm a torch is lit at the base of the Arc de Triomphe and veterans lay red, white, and blue wreaths around it to recognize an unknown solider who gave his life during WWI. It was a really interesting cemetery and there was actually a parade leading up to it with a band playing and everything. It was a really cool thing to see!

After the Arc de Triomphe, we hopped in a taxi and went over to Saint-Germain-des-Prés area for dinner and a few drinks. We ended up in the middle of a bar during the Rugby World Cup, which was really fun and lively! Around midnight we went back to my dad’s hotel and called it a night.

Sunday morning we checked out of my dad’s hotel and went over to my apartment to drop our things. We then walked over to Père Lachaise Cemetery, where we walked around for an hour or two and enjoyed the beautiful weather while looking at tombstones older than the USA!
After an extensive walk through the cemetery, we headed out for lunch and a few drinks before my dad headed to the airport to embark on his business trip! He will be missed.

3 comments

Leave a comment